Processing

Is it possible to set the same cookies in Flash as they are used in browser

10/07/2012 08:30#1

avasin

Joined at: 8 months ago

Thank: 0

I use js plugins like uploadify, that uses swf (flash) as uploader (to provide ajax upload). I can perform upload operation only for logged-in people. But as my website authentication happens not via flash, flash doesn't have cookies as browser has after authentication.

So, in browser i am an administrator, in flash i am guest. Is there a way to setup the same cookie for flash as i have in browser to identify myself without additional hashes or other extra functionality?

Will be happy to any help/advices/links to docs/manuals. Thank you in advance!

10/07/2012 09:05Top#2

strah

Joined at: 12 months ago

You can use Javascript to set and read cookie(s) and then use ExternalInterface to pass values to/from Flash.

Or you can use SharedObject to set/read your 'cookies' and then pass the values to the website (ExternalInterface).

05/07/2016 00:09Top#3

Kevin

Joined at: 12 months ago

As strah stated, through a combination of ExternalInterface and SharedObject, you can persist data in Flash similar to how you would use cookies to persist data in Javascript. How do you go about doing this, you ask?

First, you will need to write the ActionScript code which utilizes one or more SharedObjects to persist data:

//Obtain the SharedObject named "cookie", procuring a reference //to the member Object containing its persisted data var locusLSO:SharedObject = SharedObject.getLocal("cookie"); var lsoData:Object = locusLSO.data; /////  //Establish a pairing in locusLSO between some key and value lsoData["key"] = "value";  //Immediately serialize the data contained in locusLSO to its linked file var statusStr:String = locusLSO.flush(); 

Second, you need to encapsulate your ActionScript code in a method, and then register that method as part of the ExternalInterface of its parent application: