Processing
 

Ubuntu: hadoop command not found

21/04/2015 08:27#1

Joined at: 4 months ago

Post: 1

Thank: 0

Thanked: 0

I am trying to check my installation of hadoop. I did create the environment variables and when I call printenv, I do see my HADOOP_HOME and PATH variables printed and correct (home/hadoop and HADOOP_HOME/bin respectively).

If I go to home/hadoop in the terminal and call ls, I see the hadoop file there. If I try to run it by calling hadoop, it still tells me command not found.

First day on Linux, so there may be a stupid answer to this problem.

21/04/2015 08:59Top#2

The Bndr

Member

Joined at: 10 months ago

Post: 6

Thank: 0

Thanked: 0

Your current working directory is probably not part of your path. That is default on linux systems.

If you are in the same directory, where your hadoop file is, run that command with an relative path, like: ./hadoop

21/04/2015 10:50Top#3

Rajesh N

Member

Joined at: 4 months ago

Post: 2

Thank: 0

Thanked: 0

HOME DIRECTORY:

/home/hadoop is a home directory created by linux similar to Document and settings in windows.

Open your terminal and type:

ls -l /home/hadoop 

Post your result for this command: ls -l /home/hadoop

SETTING GLOBAL PATH:

Go to /home/hadoop and open .bashrc in text editor. Add these lines at the end:

export HADOOP_HOME=/path/to/your/hadoop/installation/folder export PATH=$PATH:$HADOOP_HOME/bin 

Save and exit. Now type, this in your teminal:

echo $PATH echo $HADOOP_HOME 

If these commands shows correct directories, try hadoop command. It should work.

Post your result for these command: echo $PATH and echo $HADOOP_HOME

16/01/2016 20:53Top#4

chirag

Member

Joined at: 10 months ago

Post: 10

Thank: 0

Thanked: 0

  1. Go to Hadoop-x.x.x/bin folder
  2. check for hadoop folder there
  3. run ./hadoop version
24/08/2016 13:28Top#5

Joined at: 4 months ago

Post: 1

Thank: 0

Thanked: 0

Enter which hadoop in your terminal. If you see a path as an output, hadoop is set in PATH of your system. If you get something similar to this, usr/bin/which: no hadoop in (/usr/local/hadoop.... you might not have setup everything properly. Modify the /etc/bash.bashrc with export HADOOP_HOME = /path/to/hadoop/folder and add it to PATH using export PATH=$PATH:HADOOP_HOME/bin

Similar articles

Non-interactive method for dpkg-reconfigure tzdata

5 years ago - Reply: 3 - Views: 140

monit is not able to read mongod.lock

2 years ago - Reply: 3 - Views: 138

Ubuntu: hadoop command not found

2 years ago - Reply: 4 - Views: 244

C# Mono Console.ReadLine quitting

4 years ago - Reply: 1 - Views: 87

linking jsoncpp on Ubuntu

2 years ago - Reply: 1 - Views: 5

Build artifacts over ssh jenkins - PHP

2 years ago - Reply: 1 - Views: 37

Can't load Metasploit after installation

2 years ago - Reply: 5 - Views: 212

Selenium FirefoxDriver in Headless get error

2 years ago - Reply: 1 - Views: 96

Unable to start MongoDB. ERROR: addr already in use

2 years ago - Reply: 2 - Views: 118

ZSH Agnoster Theme showing machine name

2 years ago - Reply: 4 - Views: 248

Unable to start firefox browser with jenkins user

2 years ago - Reply: 2 - Views: 110

vé máy bay vé máy bay giá rẻ ve may bay ve may bay gia re vé máy bay vé máy bay giá rẻ ve may bay ve may bay gia re vé máy bay vé máy bay giá rẻ ve may bay ve may bay gia re vé máy bay vé máy bay giá rẻ ve may bay ve may bay gia re vé máy bay vé máy bay giá rẻ ve may bay ve may bay gia re vé máy bay vé máy bay giá rẻ ve may bay ve may bay gia re vé máy bay vé máy bay giá rẻ ve may bay ve may bay gia re